The 2020 Furphy Literary Award short list announced



After receiving more than 1100 entries from across Australia the Furphy Literary Award judging process is now complete for 2020.


We are pleased to announce the entries selected for inclusion on the short list.


The 2020 Furphy Literary Awards Open Category Short list: (in no particular order)



Cate Kennedy – Ando Gets Plastered
Ruby Todd – Awakening
Sue Osborne – King of George Street
Ya Reeves – Pub Raffle
Jean Flynn – Straining at the Leash
Mira Robertson – Waiting for the Dog Furphy



Literary Award director Sam Furphy said the calibre of entries was outstanding this year. “We are thrilled to receive such a strong numbers of entries from every state and territory of Australia and overseas. Congratulations to all the authors who put forward their work for critical review.” The complete list of short and long listed entries is available online at: 2020



Furphy Literary Awards go Virtual


To ensure the health and safety of guests and to adhere to Government and Health guidelines, this year’s awards will be held virtually and will be available to stream live on Saturday 25 July. Furphy Literary Award director Adam Furphy said they were in the process of preparing for the virtual awards. “Whilst we are disappointed not to be holding the event in person we are excited at the possibility of a wider audience than we might have expected. The quality of the works submitted is really encouraging and we look forward to celebrating on in July.”


The awards will be available to stream from the Furphy Literary Awards website, and Facebook page as well as the Greater Shepparton City Council’s Youtube channel.


About the Furphy Literary Award


The Furphy Literary Award is named in honour of Australian writer Joseph Furphy and celebrates Australian story telling. Joseph Furphy was the author of a number of works written under the pen name of Tom Collins – the most famous of which – Such is Life – was published in 1903. Entrants for the open category must reside in Australia or be citizens of Australia. The Open category is for short stories of 5000 words or less for which first prize is $15,000. The theme nominated for the award is “Australian Life”.


There are also three junior/Youth categories, which were open to young people from Shepparton and surrounding regions.



2020 Open Category Short List


Ando Gets Plastered – Cate Kennedy

Awakening – Ruby Todd

King of George Street – Sue Osborne

Pub Raffle – Ya Reeves

Straining at the Leash – Jean Flynn

Waiting for the Dog – Mira Robertson



2020 Youth Short Story Short List


Aggie and Fergus Lacey O’Brien – An Atlantic Night

Elly Miechel – A Perfect Coincidence

Sophie Campisi – Gone

Heidi Smith – Hard to Imagine

Imogen Templeton – The Celtic Knot Tattoo

Hannah Freeman To Love a Faery

Layla O’Callaghan



2020 Youth Poetry Short List


Autumn – Georgia Flatman

Colours of a Lakeside Life – Ben Shelton

Colours of That Night – Heidi Smith

Every Morning – Hailey Moffatt

Little Green Box – Cliona Ingram

Memories – Georgia Flatman

Persimmons – Miya Smith

The Flavours of Demurity – Layla O’Callaghan

Time After Time – Imogen Templeton



2020 Junior Short Story Short List


Beyond Earth – Lilly Fidock

Fortune Favours the Bold – Alice Bourchier

Hope – Tylah O’Brien

Master Addison Oswald Off Track – Lila Plunkett

The Miner’s Hat – Riley Wooster

Your Deeds Are Your Monuments – Janani Murali








  1. E.regnans says

    Congratulations to all who were shortlisted and also to all who entered.

    I entered – spent a lot of time and emotional energy on drafting and editing and writing and hoping.
    Oh well. There’s probably some sort of mourning period underway now.

    Thank you to the organisers for creating the opportunity.
    And to all involved in bringing this event to life.

    Long may the Junior and Youth sections thrive.

Leave a Comment