Almanac Cricket: Pomborneit Cricket Club March Review


Welcome to our review for March, keeping you updated on all the happenings at the Pomborneit Cricket Club.




South West CA 2018/19 Division 1 Premiers
Back: Sam Darcy, Brad Hillman, Clinton Place, Steve O’Neill, Tim Place, Tom Darcy, Luke Reynolds
Front: Tom Place, Grant Place (c), Dave Murphy, Tharaka Sendanayake, Lahiru Fernando


After the Round 14 game was abandoned due to the heat policy, the Division 1 Bulls had a tight semi-final win over Bookaar before success over Mortlake in the Grand Final.


Pomborneit 125 (Lahiru Fernando 30, Steve O’Neill 24) def.
Bookaar 111 (Clinton Place 4/10, Tharaka Sendanayake 2/26)


Grand Final-
Mortlake 157 (Clinton Place 5/35, Steve O’Neill 2/32, Brad Hillman 2/40) lost to
Pomborneit 5/158 (Lahiru Fernando 36, Grant Place 30, Dave Murphy 30, Tharaka Sendanayake 21*)


The moment of victory in the Grand Final


The Place brothers, Captain Grant (left) and Grand Final man of the match Clinton (right)



With their final round game abandoned due to the heat policy, the Division 3 Bulls narrowly missed the finals and finished 5th for a second consecutive season. Well done to skipper Wes Lenehan and his team for their efforts in 2018/19.


Congratulations to David Murphy and Lahiru Fernando who both made the South West Cricket Association 2018/19 team of the year.


Dave & Lahiru


Huge crowd in attendance as we celebrated the 2018/19 season.
Winners on the night were:

Team Champions: Tharaka Sendanayake & Lahiru Fernando (tied) 19 votes (Trophies donated by the O’Neill family)

Division 1 Team Champions Tharaka Sendanayake & Lahiru Fernando

Most Runs- Dave Murphy 388 (Trophy donated by Max Castle)


Dave Murphy Division 1 most runs

Most Wickets- Lahiru Fernando 37 (Trophy donated by the Boyd family)

Century- Dave Murphy 102 v Camperdown Round 3

5 wickets in an innings-
Clinton Place 7/9 v Terang Round 1
Clinton Place 5/35 v Mortlake in Grand Final


Clinton Place

Lahiru Fernando 5/16 v Noorat Round 5
Brad Hillman 5/29 (inc. hat-trick) v Noorat Round 12 (Trophy donated by Ian Boyd)


Brad Hillman


Twenty20 Player of the Year- Lahiru Fernando 52.40 points (Trophy donated by Tony Evans)
Twenty20 Most Runs- Tim Place 198 (Trophy donated by Graeme Murphy)
Twenty20 Most Wickets- Lahiru Fernando 17 (Trophy donated by Simon Tolland)


Lahiru Fernando with his swag of trophies


Team Champion- Wes Lenehan 18 votes (Trophy donated by Camperdown Compost Company)


Division 3 Team Champion Wes Lenehan

Most Runs- Matthew Richardson 450 (Trophy donated by Prickly Moses Handcrafted Beer)

Most Wickets- Daniel Missen 23 (Trophy donated by Rodney Boyd)


Daniel Missen


Matthew Richardson 102 v Camperdown Round 2
Matthew Richardson 106 v Noorat Round 14


Matthew Richardson


Most Catches- Lahiru Fernando 13
Most Wicket-Keeper Dismissals- David Murphy 15 (9 ct, 6 st)
Jamie Beasley Memorial Trophy- Tom Place


Tom Place

UNDER 16’s-

Most Runs- Sam Whytcross 203 (Trophy donated by James Boyd)


Sam Whytcross


Most Wickets- Tayla Reynolds 8 & Daniel Lenehan 8 (Trophy donated by GBM Technology)


Tayla Reynolds & Daniel Lenehan

Most Catches- Sam Whytcross 6 (Trophy donated by David Murphy)

Most Improved- Edward Johnstone (Trophy donated by Luke Reynolds)


Edward Johnstone

UNDER 13’s-

All Under 13’s were presented with a participation medal and a Pomborneit Bulls cap.


12th MAN CLUB-
The club’s new coterie group the “12th man club” has had fantastic support since starting in January. Many thanks to Steve “Churchy” Murphy for the incredible job he has done to get it all up and running. While there are many great reasons to join (great prizes, social events, supporting the developement of the club and it’s facilities), becoming a member of the group is worth every cent just to see Churchy’s hilariously entertaining videos for the prize draws!


Our Division 1 team was honoured to be awarded the Corangamite Sportsman’s Club’s Senior Team of the Month for March with several of the team in attendance at the dinner at the Commercial hotel in Camperdown.


Senda and Larry with our certificate from the Corangamite Sportsman’s Club



Pomborneit CC Annual General Meeting- Sunday 28th July (Time TBC)

What a season! Many thanks to all our players, their families, our supporters and our wonderful sponsors for the tremendous backing the club received in 2018/19. A big thank you to John Harms at for publishing these monthly reviews. Go Bulls in 2019/20!


Five Star Stockfeeds
Fennell West Financial Freedom
Koallah Farm
Waldig Civil Construction
Camperdown Country Roasts
MNT Construction
Swayn & McCabe
Think Water Colac
Richardson’s Liquid Waste & Water Cartage
Hillman Building & Maintenance
Hillec Electrical Services
Revamp Hair & Beauty
Gee Bees Media
Country Road Farm Supplies
Camperdown BP Roadhouse
R & B Walters Gardening
B & S Discount Tyres
Icon Sports Warrnambool
Camperdown Bakery
The Butcher’s Cut Cobden
Dean Reynolds Painter
Sadler Transport
Camperdown Compost Company

Follow the Pomborneit Cricket Club-

Twitter: @PomboBulls

Facebook: Pomborneit Cricket Club

Instagram: @pomborneitcc


Click here for the Pomborneit CC February Review

Click here for the Pomborneit CC December/January Review

Click here for the Pomborneit CC November Review

Click here for the Pomborneit CC October Review


2019/20 South West CA Division 1 & Division 3 premiers! #gopombobulls


  1. A huge, comprehensive report, Luke. Well played.
    Any year in which your First XI wins the flag is some sort of year!
    Go Bulls!!

  2. Great stuff Luke,Where is the best nets bowler award ?

  3. Well done Luke and the Bulls. Great year. Just looking at the player awards made me recall that back home in the local competition a bloke fronting for Nuriootpa (the team against which I made my comeback) made well over a thousand runs for the season! As so often happens they got rolled in the semi-final for 47 and, despite being considered a certainty for the flag, didn’t even make the final.

    Look forward to these updates next year.

  4. Dave Brown says

    Well done to the Bulls on a successful season. I think my favourite thing is that it would appear Lahiru is known as ‘Larry’ at the club

  5. Luke Reynolds says

    Cheers Smokie, it was some sort of year, especially when you add in our Division 1 Twenty20 title.

    Rulebook- just would have been another award for Lahiru!

    Mickey, there’s definitely no certainties in finals, as we nearly bowed out in the semi’s. Look forward to doing it all again next season!

    Dave- yes, Lahiru became known as Larry almost immediately, he was only referred to as Lahiru in the media and on the club’s posts.

Leave a Comment