2018 Brownlow Medal Winner: Tom Mitchell 


Congratulations to Hawthorn’s Tom Mitchell for winning the 2018 Brownlow Medal with a total of 28 votes. We know dad Barry, part of The Footy Almanac family, would be a very proud papa. Well done Tom.



Here are the top vote getters from last night’s Brownlow Medal count:


  • Tom Mitchell, Hawthorn – 28 votes
  • Steele Sidebottom, Collingwood – 24 votes
  • Angus Brayshaw, Melbourne – 21 votes
  • Patrick Cripps, Carlton – 20 votes
  • Max Gawn, Melbourne – 20 votes
  • Rory Laird, Adelaide – 19 votes
  • Dustin Martin, Richmond – 19 votes
  • Dayne Beams, Brisbane – 18 votes
  • Jack Steven, St Kilda – 18 votes
  • Patrick Dangerfield, Geelong – 17 votes
  • Brody Grundy, Collingwood – 17 votes






  1. Well done to T Mitchell.

    But this year’s vote does nothing to dispel the notion the Browlow is now just a mid-fielders’ medal.

    A sign of the pervasiveness of stats in modern footy?

  2. Nine of the Top 10 from different clubs. Just about every one of them with a terrific back story as well.

    At least something in this monster called the AFL is working!


  3. Peter warrington says

    D Grimes 0 votes.

    full. stop.

Leave a Comment