VAFA: Ivanhoe try to round up old premiership players

By Don Blackwood

Forty years have fluttered by since an Ivanhoe Amateurs senior team has won a flag; the last was in 1969 over De La Salle at Victoria Park by 15 points.
The celebration and reunion of that momentous occasion will take place at Ivanhoe Park on Sat 25 July at 12 noon as a forerunner to the Ivanhoe v Old Paradians match.  All players and officials from the late 1960s and early ’70s are most welcome to attend.
A luncheon plus a launch of the DVD extracted from some previously uncovered footage should be a highlight.
Don Blackwood (9497 2248) and Russell Knight (9347 0119) are the contact persons. Players they would still like to contact are: Wayne Jones, Jeff Brown, Peter Whitaker and Alan Litchfield.
Sadly, two players out of the original team have passed away: Peter Phillips and Peter Quinlivan.

Ivanhoe’s 1969 premiership team:
Jeff Brown, Peter Coulter, Peter Giles
HB: Graeme Linley, Euan Logan, David Peake
C: Don Blackwood, Roger Freeman, Peter Phillips
HF: John Burns, Robin Hick, David McMahon
F: Peter Quinlivan, Peter Whitaker, John Paterson
R: Tim Robinson, David Berry (vc), Bill McWhinnie (c)
19th: Alan Litchfield.
20th: Wayne Jones
Coach: Syd Neale

Leave a Comment