Tassie Footy: The Rainbows are the 2016 OSFA Premiers!

By Bill Eagle (or Bill Trethewie and friends)


Well, at last the drought has broken and, after 23 years, the Rainbows are OSFA Premiers!!


The boys were superb on Saturday against reigning-Premiers, Richmond. Uni well and truly had the Blues’ measure right through until three-quarter time when they led by 31 points. However the ‘Bows clearly tightened up in the final term as Richmond grew in confidence, finding space across North Hobart Oval and slamming on five unanswered majors. Fortunately, the siren sounded to halt their charge and seal a memorable victory for the Rainbows. Only after giving the many TUFC supporters at the ground a series of heart failures!


Jarrod Collis won the John Kenny Medal for best afield, finishing with four goals and countless important touches. Brad Green, Coach Ben Beams and Field Reeves all finished with two apiece. Cam Burgess was resolute in defence along with Mark Corbett while Rob Gilligan and Tom Arnold provide plenty of drive for the Rainbows. The flag is undoubtedly just reward for many who have been involved in the Club for a long time. But special mention has to go to Coach Beama, President Matthew ‘Noodles’ Martin and VP Troy Stewart who have done the hard yards over a number of years to get this result.


Congratulation also goes to Steffen Waight and his Reserves side who smashed Richmond in the big dance to deliver back-to-back flags for the Twos. The usual suspects got the job done for Uni, with big Nick Whittle kicking four goals, Mav Matuszek snagged three while Gav Livingston and Angus McNab signed off great seasons in style.Sam Chivers won the Bill Trethewie medal for best on field.


So all up it was a ripping day for the Tasmania University Football Club. There were plenty of supporters there to take in the drama and lap up what will no doubt live long as one of the great days, I have on good advice reliable that the ensuing celebrations have been suitably large to date and will surely continue that way for a while yet. Very well deserved. The customary B&F count took place on Sunday with Rob Gilligan taking home the Senior B&F award in front of Jarrod Collis and Josh Fogarty. Angus McNab won the Reserves B&F from Mav Matuszek and Gav Livingstone. Congrats to all winners and runners up.The Mercury’s match report is added on page 2, below. Looking ahead, the TUFC Presentation Dinner will be held on Friday October 7th at the KGV Function Centre from 6.30pm. $50 pp for 2 course meal and drinks at bar prices. All supporters are warmly invited to attend. RSVP to Noodles on 0447128588.


Seniors Grand Final

University 6.5 8.10 13.11 13.13 (91)

Richmond 3.5 3.7 8.10 13.11 (89)



Goals: J. Collis 4, B. Green 2, F. Reeves 2, B. Beams 2, A. Woodhead, G. King, C. Bielski

Best: J. Collis, C. Burgess, R. Gilligan, M. Corbett, J. McDonald, T. Arnold



Goals: A. Gilmour 4, J. Dunn 3, T. Roberts 2, T. Rainbird 2, J. Wylie, D. Reimers

Best: B. Joseph, B. Cato, A. Daft, T. Roberts, J. Dunn, D. Bailey


Reserves Grand Final

University 5.5 7.8 11.11 15.13 (103)

Richmond 1.2 1.4 3.8 6.10 (46)



Goals: N. Whittle 4, M. Matuszek 3, G. McAdam 2, S. Chivers 2, R. Davis 2, T. Lonergan, M. Palmer

Best: G. Livingstone, A. McNab, C. Foster, S. Terhell, T. Lonergan, J. Harrison



Goals: R. Brumby 2, J. Hutchison, T. Clark, M. Hadfield, H. Joseph

Best: N. Woolley, B. Douglas, J. Hutchison, D. Lyden, T. Hitchens, B. Hill






  1. Daryl Sharpen says

    A thoroughly enjoyable day with a really well club and association competition. A credit to John Kenny, ‘Farmer’ Bill Trethewie, MIck Mundy, Paul ‘Muscles’ Curtain and Assn. President and newly elected local MP, Josh Willie. Well done boys and we will do all again next year.

Leave a Comment