Almanac (NSW) Footy: The Carey-Bunton Medal and the NSW Team of the Season





Tom Hawkins (Finley) – Geelong Football Club
Full voting details below





Lachlan Schultz (Moama) – Fremantle Football Club





Tom Hawkins (Finley) – Geelong Football Club
Winner of Coleman Medal & Carey-Bunton Medal



2020 NSW Team of the Season


Coach: John Longmire Sydney (Corowa Rutherglen Kangaroos)


Assistant Coaches: Brett Kirk Sydney (North Albury Grasshoppers) Mark McVeigh GWS (Pennant Hills Demons) Jarryd McVeigh Sydney (Pennant Hills Demons) Adam Schneider GWS (Osborne Tigers)




Harry Cunningham                          Dougal Howard                     Harry Perryman

Sydney                                           St Kilda                                 GWS

Turvey Park Bulldogs                      Wagga Tigers                          Collingullie Glenfield Park Demons


Half back:


Callum Mills                        Dane Rampe (Vice Captain)                         Zac Williams

Sydney                               Sydney                                                            GWS

North Shore Bombers        Eastern Suburbs-UNSW Bulldogs               Narrandera Imperials




Isaac Smith                                         Jacob Hopper                                    Will Setterfield

Hawthorn                                           GWS                                                      Carlton

East Wagga-Kooringal Hawks      Leeton-Whitton Crows                       Albury Tigers


Half forward:


Luke Breust                        Tom Hawkins (Captain)                 Lachie Schultz

Hawthorn                           Geelong                                         Fremantle

Temora Kangaroos               Finley Cats                                     Moama Magpies




Michael Gibbons              Harry Himmelberg                                       Taylor Walker

Carlton                                  GWS                                                      Adelaide

Lavington Panthers         Mangoplah-Cookardinia United                North Broken Hill Bulldogs Eastlakes Goannas




Jarrod Witts                                        Isaac Heeney                                     Matthew Kennedy

Gold Coast                                          Sydney                                                 Carlton

Sydney University Students            Cardiff Hawks                                    Collingullie Glenfield Park Demons




Jeremy Finlayson GWS (Culcairn Lions) Aaron vandenBerg Melbourne (Tathra Sea Eagles) Nick Blakey Sydney (Eastern Suburbs-UNSW Bulldogs) Todd Marshall Port Adelaide (Deniliquin Rams)




Final Votes in the Carey-Bunton Medal

1 Tom Hawkins (GEE) 35 
2 Jarrod Witts (GCS) 31
3 Dane Rampe (SYD) 20
3 Harry Perryman (GWS) 20
5 Isaac Heeney (SYD) 19
6 Jacob Hopper (GWS) 12
7 Callum Mills (SYD) 11
8 Isaac Smith (HAW) 9
9 Derek Eggmolesse-Smith (RIC) 8
9 Dougal Howard (STK) 8
11 Zac Williams (GWS) 5
12 Nick Blakey (SYD) 4
12 Jacob Townsend (ESS) 4
12 Matthew Kennedy (CAR) 4
15 Luke Breust (HAW) 3
15 Jeremy Finlayson (GWS) 3
17 Michael Gibbons (CARL) 3
18 Todd Marshall (PA) (2)
18 Harry Himmelberg (GWS) 2
18 Charlie Spargo (MEL) 2
18 Elliott Himmelberg (ADE) 2




Read more about the Carey-Bunton Medal HERE.



To return to the home page click HERE



Do you enjoy the Almanac concept?
And want to ensure it continues in its current form, and better? To help keep things ticking over please consider making your own contribution.

Become an Almanac (annual) member – CLICK HERE
One off financial contribution – CLICK HERE
Regular financial contribution (monthly EFT) – CLICK HERE



  1. Kevin Densley says

    Nice work, Rod! It’s a very good thing to be reminded of the important role NSW plays in the AFL world.

  2. Thanks Kevin,

    A very proud and rich tradition albeit chequered on occasions.

    Game in great shape. Almost the best its never been.

Leave a Comment