Women’s footy: Vics win national championship

by Leesa Catto

The BIG V claimed the AFL women’s national championships today with a hard fought thirty-eight point win over West Australia in perfect conditions at Subiaco Oval.

In a very tight opening term the Victorian backline was placed under enormous pressure as the W.A team pushed forward relentlessly. W.A led by seven points at quarter time, the first time Victoria had trailed at any break in the championships. It proved to be the only time. Victoria grabbed a slim lead in the second quarter and went into the main break three points up. The third quarter is called the premiership quarter for good reason and the Victorian girls really hit their straps kicking four third quarter goals. They restricted the Sandgropers to one point and went into the last change with a handy twenty-six point lead.

The start of the last quarter was scrappy as the W.A team fought tooth and nail to challenge the Victorians on the big stage. The Vic’s withstood the pressure and piled on three final quarter goals to run out thirty-eight point winners. Make no mistake about it the West Australian team took the game right up to the Big V and Victoria had to work very hard to earn this championship. In the end the Victorians skill and class across the ground under enormous pressure was telling and the Victorian team was deserving of it’s hard fought win.

VIC: 1.0 3.0 7.0 10.0 (60)
W.A: 2.1 2.3 2.4 3.4 (22)

BEST ON GROUND: Shannon McFerran

GOALS VIC: Stacey Cross 3 Steph Chiocci 2 Amy Catterall 2 Daisy Pearce 1 Phoebe McWilliams 1 Lauren Arnell 1
BEST VIC: Shannon McFerran Daisy Pearce Cecilia McIntosh Lou Wotton Penny Cula-Reid Diana Haines Phoebe McWilliams Amy Catterall

ALL AUSTRALIAN: Congratulations to our Victorians named all Australian: Shannon McFerran Natalie Wood Stacey Cross Phoebe McWilliams Lou Wotton Steph Chiocci Cecilia McIntosh Daisy Pearce Lauren Bazeley and our coach Leeann Gill…..

DEBBIE LEE MEDALLIST: Congratulations to Shannon McFerran on being named the Debbie Lee medallist as the best player of the championships….

Leave a Comment