Women’s Footy: Darebin take VWFL flag

By Leesa Catto

Darebin were too good, too strong and too experienced as they outmuscled the Creekers yesterday at Box Hill city Oval. It was  Darebin’s day, winning both the VWFL reserves and seniors Grand Finals.

The seniors took home the Susan Alberti cup after beating a gallant Diamond Creek team by 44 points in front of a record crowd at Box Hill City Oval. It was their fourth consecutive premiership.

Blustery, swirly conditions greeted the players as they arrived at BOX HILL CITY OVAL for the VWFL PREMIER DIVISION GRAND FINAL. A HUGE crowd poured in anticipating some great footy action. In the senior Grand Final Darebin Falcons were the unbackable favourite not having lost a game since the second semi final in 2006. The Falcons were featured in Rob Dickson’s award winning documentary The Essence of the Game and were going into this game with the chance to make VWFL history by winning four premierships in a row. The Parkville Scorpions went back to back to back in 1987, 1988 & 1989 and in 2008 the Darebin Falcons had equalled that record. Would they break this record in 2009 or would the Diamond Creek Demons stop their run? These were the questions to be answered as the teams lined up for the national anthem to start the 2009 Premier Division Grand Final.

VWFL partners Susan Alberti, MELBOURNEfc and AFL Victoria were in attendance alongside a massive crowd who packed into BOX HILL CITY OVAL to watch a new challenger take on the champion. The average age of the Creeker players going into the game was twenty-one years compared to the Falcons whose average age was twenty-seven years. The Falcons were also more experienced overall with their players averaging seventy-seven games played compared to the Creekers whose players averaged forty-six games played. Plus the Falcons had been on this stage the previous four years in a row where as the Creekers had never been in a Premier Division Grand Final before, in fact they didn’t even make the finals in 2008.

The players and crowd lined up for the national anthem and the roar was deafening as the siren sounded to start the game. The Creekers attacked hard and registered the first score a goal to Bianca Richmond. Richmond also had a hand in the next goal passing off as the Creekers kicked the first two of the game. Darebin were able to kick a goal against the wind and a miss by Stacey Cross just before quarter time proved costly as the Creekers took a one goal lead into quarter time. The Premier division leading goal kicker, Creeker Brittany Grech was injured and had little impact on the game. Darebin peppered the goals in the second quarter kicking 3.6 while holding the Creekers score less as the wind was affecting scoring and disposals around the ground. Moana Hope was getting her hands on the ball and Alisha Habib was providing a strong option up forward. Bek Sibenaler and Diana Haines were resolute in defence for the Creekers as the Falcons attacked relentlessly. Darebin went into half time sixteen points up and with all the momentum.

The Creekers needed quick goals to kick start their third quarter but they could only manage one for the term as the Falcons also kicked one goal. The Falcons went into the last quarter twenty -one points up and they added five goals to one as they piled on unanswered goals to run out forty-four point winners. Reports of the Falcons demise proved to be far too premature, as they became the only team to ever win four VWFL premierships in a row. The Diamond Creek Demons lead by Darren Logan and Nicole Fisher has had a magnificent season and should be mighty proud of their achievements. This has been a watershed year for the Creekers who took all before them only falling short at the last hurdle against a team destined to make history, a team that arguably now at this point in time should be called the best of all time.

The Creekers were well served by Renae Adamson, Diana Haines & Bek Sibenalar. Diamond Creek while being disappointed today will surely feature in the VWFL for years to come with this young, talented and skilful group pushing to take the next step.

Darebin captain’s Daisy Pearce and Anna McIlroy both lead from the front all day and Kathy Zacharopoulos kept on running. In the end the experience and hardness told out as the champions coached by Peta Searle were too good for the challengers and are clearly the best team the competition has ever seen. Sarah Hammond was awarded the Lisa Hardeman medal, being named as best on the ground. Hammond received a knock to her hand during the first quarter but recovered well to have a telling impact providing hardness, run and drive around the ground. Susan Alberti presented the premiership cup named in recognition of her contribution to the VWFL to Darebin coach Peta Searle and her captains Anna McIlroy & Daisy Pearce. The mighty Falcons will surely celebrate this achievement long and hard.


Darebin 1.1  4.7  5.9  10.14 (74)

Diamond Creek 2.3  2.3  3.6  4.6 (30)

GOALS: Darebin: Hope 2 Splatt 2 Smith  Pearce  Arnell  Lange  Schwager  Habib
Diamond Creek: Richmond  Eberle  Frazer  Attard

BEST: Darebin:  Sarah Hammond  (Awarded the Lisa Hardeman medal for best on ground) Zacharopoulos Burke Smith Pearce McCorkell
Diamond Creek: Adamson Haines Sibenaler Chiocci D’Olivera Lynch


Darebin 1.3  4.10  5.11  9.13 (67)

St Kilda 0.0  0.0  2.3  3.3 (21)

GOALS: Darebin: Simpson 2 Potter 2 Portway 2 Spain  Hickmott  Griffiths
St Kilda: Morrow  Contini  Baeffel

BEST: Darebin: Griffiths Spain Simpson Alexandrow Carbis Van Riel
St Kilda: Bourdon Brogan Franklin Baeffel Scheggia Bowey

Leesa Catto  |  Media Manager   Victorian Women’s Football League 0417 524 843  |  www.vwfl.org.au | [email protected]


  1. Falcon Family says

    Awesome game by the Falcons. Two premiership cups on the day. Best team ever!!!! Well done Falcs.

Leave a Comment