VWFL – Darebin’s amazing run of 5 flags in a row comes to an end

On Saturday 27/08/2011 at Mantello Holden Oval a huge crowd that included Hugh Delahunty the Minister for sport who tossed the coin, Sue Alberti Western Bulldogs board member & VWFL partner after whom the Premiership cup is named and Cameron Schwab, David Neitz, Chris Connolly and Karen Hayes from the Melbourne Football Club saw a wonderful game of women’s footy at the Victorian Women’s Football League Premier Division Grand Final.

Delahunty an Essendon FC life member who played 46 games for the Bombers spoke to the Grand Final function gathering at half time and admitted that he was astounded by the skills on display.

The VU St Albans Spurs stopped the mighty Darebin Falcons from adding to their amazing record of 5 premierships in a row. The Spurs started well with their inspirational spiritual leader Debbie Lee kicking the first goal of the game. The first quarter was tight with two goals separating the teams at the first break.

After quarter time it was all one way traffic as the Spurs slammed on twelve goals to one to run out 79 point winners. Amy Catterall was unstoppable taking a number of contested marks and kicking 5 goals while Karen Paxman was awarded the Lisa Hardeman medal as best on the ground in a dominant display on the ball. Hardeman the cousin of retired Bomber champ Ricky Olarenshaw is a retired women’s footy great as a player, coach & administrator.

Daisy Pearce the Darebin captain led from the front all day for her team but it wasn’t enough as VU St Albans had an even contribution from their 22 players all playing their role. Check out the Local Footy Show on channel 31/44 digital on Friday to see lots of footage and stories from the big day.


Premier Division – Sue Alberti cup


VU St Albans    4.0, 8.1, 11.4, 16.6 (102)

Darebin              2.1, 2.4, 3.4, 3.5 (23)

GOALS, VU St Albans: Amy Catterall 5, Kylie Nicolaci 3, Bree White 1, Kaz Paxman 1, Dale Robinson 1, Belinda Hateley 1, Jen Plumb 1, Debbie Lee 1, Georgia Harris 1, Amanda Walsh 1

Darebin: Samantha Smith 1, Alana Wearne 1, Alisha Habib 1

BEST, VU St Albans: Kaz Paxman, Bree White, Amy Catterall, Shannon McFerran, Kylie Nicolaci, Lauren Bazeley

Darebin: Daisy Pearce, Natalie Wood, Aasta O’Connor, Kathleen Roe, Sarah Hammond, Julia Chiera



  1. G’day Leesa, Thanks for the invitation to the Grand Final. The and I loved it. What a brilliant day! Great weather. Fast, open footy on the big ground, where the women were able to show their talents. Especially the St Albans crew who were brilliant. Congratulations to them. And to you and those who have helped run and promote the competition. What you do on a minimum amount of cash is just phenomenal. At the Almanac, we salute you.

Leave a Comment