Another Almanac Footy mystery – What became of Shepparton Imperial Football Club?


Regularly the Footy Almanac receives requests from readers trying to track down information about the history of footy clubs and players.


Ashley Greenwood, a work colleague of Almanacker ER, is is trying to track down the modern day heirs to Shepparton Imperial Football Club. 


Below is a photo of the 1919 side with Ashley’s grandfather in the back row, far right.


They are labelled as “Undefeated premiers”  but Ashley is unsure of the competition.


The jerseys in the front row is a Demon one, but the information regarding a Shepp FC is limited and descriptions of another Shepp club playing in those colours (Shepp United) doesn’t go back to 1919 according to Ashley.



Any footy sleuth who can provide  information please send it via  comments. It will be greatly appreciated.



Shepparton Imperial Football Club


R.Prosser P. Ash W. Florence R. Greenwood
A. Howes (vice-pres.) J. O’Connell V. Harley J. Loe W. Killeen J. Grace M. McCluskey Fred Pink
A. Fortin B. Phair H. Mahony H. Burns (pres.) A. Huggard (vice-capt.) F. Bedwell A. Blight
R. Huggard Frank Pink



Do you really enjoy the Almanac concept?
And want to ensure it continues in its current form, and better? To help keep things ticking over please consider making your own contribution.

Become an Almanac (annual) member – CLICK HERE
One off financial contribution – CLICK HERE
Regular financial contribution (monthly EFT) – CLICK HERE





  1. were around in at least 1928 by this report; will dig some more later from Lemnos FC website

    The Lemnos Football Club was formed at a public meeting in April 1928. The Club affiliated with the Goulburn Valley Second Eighteens Association (GVSEA), which later in the 1930s became the Goulburn Valley Football Association (GVFA). The colours of the Lemnos Football Club were black with a yellow sash, and its home ground was the Lemnos Recreation Reserve adjacent to the Lemnos Primary School.

    The 1928 inaugural committee consisted of the following : – President, E.P. Hill ; Secretary, A.A. Opie ; Captain, W. Mawson ; Vice-Captain, H. McFadyen ; Goal Umpires, A. McDonald and J. Young ; and Timekeepers, R. Cargill and W. B. Orchard. In its first season in 1928 the Lemnos Football Club finished fifth out of eight teams, the other teams being Mooroopna, Dookie College, Shepparton Imperials, Ardmona, Undera, Bunbartha and Cosgrove. The first Best & Fairest winner in 1928 was W Mawson who was the recipient of a gold medal. The first Club Leading Goalkicker in 1928 was W. Marshall with 26 goals from 13 games.

  2. Still around in 1936 according to this

  3. Thx Noel,
    Had found those links in my wanderings. Appreciate your efforts. Difficult to imagine a demon stripe going to a magpie, but there is a fella in the front row in a jersey that looks more demon stripe than magpie!

  4. Would love to hear updates as you continue the search. Noel

Leave a Comment