Almanac Teams: Winning Melbourne Cup jockeys and their footy counterparts






It’s a while since I’ve done a novelty team. Well, what better time than the present?


We’ve recently had the race that stops the nation, so I thought about a team using the surnames of Melbourne Cup winning jockeys, linking them with their footballing equivalents. How’s this team look? They’d be odds on to beat their opponents.


The footballers are the first named, the jockeys who share the surnames are next up in brackets.


B:        Andy Preston (Teddy)    Bruce Morrison  (J)   Russell Cook (Peter)

HB:     Kevin Higgins (Roy)       Alex Duncan ( Bill)      Martin Pike (James)

C:        Patrick Cripps (Herbert) Greg Williams (Craig)   Clayton Oliver (Damien)

HF:      Brad Johnson (Jim)       Brown Jonathan  (Corey)   Bob Davis (S)

F:         Donald McDonald (James)  Lindsay White (Harry)   Henry Coles (Les)

Foll:     Ben McEvoy (Kerrin)  Denis Marshall (John) Touk Miller (John)

Inter:    Jeff Cassidy (Jimmy) Joe Sellwood (Neville) Phil Munro (Darby) Jim Shanahan (Albert)

Emergencies:        George Gough (Jim) John Robson (G) Nathan Foley (Fred)


Coach/Trainer:     Norm Smith (TJ)



Years these jockeys won the Melbourne Cup.


Corey Brown : 2009, 2017  It would be remiss not mentioning that T Brown won the Cup in 1878


Jimmy Cassidy: 1983, 1997


Les Coles: 1962


Peter Cook: 1981, 1984   Billy Cook won it in 1941, then 1945.


Herbert Cripps: 1893


S Davis: 1864. W Davis then won in 1866.


Bill Duncan: 1918, 1932


Jim Gough: 1881


Fred Foley: 1916


Roy Higgins: 1965,1967


Jim Johnson: 1963, 1968, 1969


John Marshall: 1999


James McDonald: 2021


Kerrin McEvoy: 2000, 2016, 2018


John Miller: 1966


J Morrison : 1869


Darby Munro: 1934, 1944, 1946. Just for good measures his brother James L Munro ride the winner in 1925, also 1928.


Damien Oliver: 1995, 2002, 2013


James Pike: 1930


Teddy Preston: 1939


G Robson: 1892


Neville Sellwood: 1951, 1955


Albert Shanahan: 1913, 1914


Harry White: 1974, 1975, 1978, 1979


Craig Williams: 2019



T J Smith twice trained winners of the Melbourne Cup, firstly in 1955, later on in 1981.


You’d have to say this team is a good bet. So to paraphrase, the old adage : I’m not encouraging you to gamble, I’m encouraging you to bet.




Read more from Glen! HERE


To return to our Footy Almanac home page click HERE.

Our writers are independent contributors. The opinions expressed in their articles are their own. They are not the views, nor do they reflect the views, of Malarkey Publications.

Do you enjoy the Almanac concept?

And want to ensure it continues in its current form, and better? To help things keep ticking over please consider making your own contribution.

Become an Almanac (annual) member – CLICK HERE.

One-off financial contribution – CLICK HERE.

Regular financial contribution (monthly EFT) – CLICK HERE.


  1. Great work Glen
    Maybe have a side next of horses named after footballers or a cup field.

    I know Cups Day Race 1 had Brereton & Quinlan
    Dermott also had Big Dermott
    Minson was a good horse
    Deledio ran in a VRC Derby
    Others I can recall are
    Big Buddie
    Van Der Haar
    Lethal Leigh
    King Carey

Leave a Comment