Almanac Cricket: Australian Test squad to take on India named


“The Cricketer”
by Kate Birrell


Cricket Australia has announced the 17-player squad to tackle India in the forthcoming Test series. There are no real surprises.


Sean Abbott (NSW)

Joe Burns (QLD)

Pat Cummins (NSW) (vc)

Cameron Green (WA)

Josh Hazlewood (NSW)

Travis Head (SA)

Marnus Labuschagne (QLD)

Nathan Lyon (NSW)

Michael Neser (QLD)

Tim Paine (TAS) (c)

James Pattinson (VIC)

Will Pucovski (VIC)

Steve Smith (NSW)

Mitchell Starc (NSW)

Mitchell Swepson (QLD)

Matthew Wade (TAS)

David Warner (NSW)




To return to our Footy Almanac home page click HERE.


Our writers are independent contributors. The opinions expressed in their articles are their own. They are not the views, nor do they reflect the views, of Malarkey Publications.


Do you enjoy the Almanac concept?

And want to ensure it continues in its current form, and better? To help things keep ticking over please consider making your own contribution.


Become an Almanac (annual) member – CLICK HERE.

One-off financial contribution – CLICK HERE.

Regular financial contribution (monthly EFT) – CLICK HERE.




  1. As expected here. Burns needs a score early.

    Looking at the Australia A squad and this which is surely among the more prosaic of announcements:

    Mitchell Marsh (WA – subject to fitness).

    With Virat only here for the Adelaide Test much of the subsequent attraction is likely gone.

  2. Bernard Whimpress says

    Plainly shocked by Shaun Marsh’s omission. A tried and true trier and can’t wait for Mitch’s recovery.

  3. No complaints from me. This looks a pretty good squad to me. I believe Shaun Marsh to be a bit of an enigma. At his best his is simply outstanding but we don’t see enough of this at test match level. If only he could maintain his top form Shaun would be a shoe in. Personally, I can hardly wait for the tests to start.

Leave a Comment