A-League All-Star Team, 2005-2014/15

by Lucas Lewit-Mendes and Philip Mendes

Here is our best team from ten years of the A-League.

We deliberately chose not to include famous players such as Alessandro Del Piero, Shinji Ono, Dwight York and Robbie Fowler who made their reputations elsewhere, and only played fleetingly in Australia.

Additionally, Robbie Kruse and Marco Rojas were outstanding for one season, but moved on quickly.

There were some unlucky omissions. Mark Bridge and Joel Griffiths just missed out as strikers, and Alex Brosque, Michael McGlinchey and Nikolai Topor-Stanley were also unlucky.

4-2-2-2 Formation:

Michael Theo

Ivan Franjic     Kevin Muscat     Patrick Zwaanswijk     Cassio

Mark Milligan     Matt McKay

Archie Thompson                     Thomas Broich

Shane Smeltz    Besart Berisha

Eugene Galekovic
Pedj Bojic
Carlos Hernandez
Sergio Van Dijk

Ange Postecoglou

A pretty solid line-up from Lucas and Philip. Read more of our Soccer/World Football content here:

About Philip Mendes

Philip Mendes is an academic who follows AFL, soccer, tennis and cricket. He supported Fitzroy Football Club from 1970-1996, and on their death he adopted the North Melbourne Kangaroos as his new team. In his spare time, he occasionally writes about his current and past football teams.


  1. Some big calls here gents!

    I would love to have seen Ruben Zadkovic and N Topor-Stanley get a cap, but tough to find a spot ahead of Kev Muscat and PZ.

  2. Dennis Gedling says

    Hard to go past that although Mark Bridge deserved a mention despite is lack of talent. Scorer in two A-League Grand Final wins and played in the Asian Champions League Final(s) with Wanderers.

    The only way a Glory player (apart from Smeltz) would get in there is if we do a worst A-League team of the past 10 years.

Leave a Comment