Local Footy: De La duo share A-grade medal

De La Salle pair David Lowe and Matt Fieldsend have earned a rare double by becoming the joint winners of the Woodrow Medal for best and fairest in the VAFA’s A-section.

Lowe, a midfielder and the club captain, and Fieldsend, who’s spent most of the season at half-back, scored 18 points to finish ahead of Ben Phibbs (St Bede’s-Mentone Tigers) on 14, and Andrew Scott (Collegians) and Josh Agius (Old Xaverians) on 13.

Xavs centre half-forward Matt Handley was crowned the leading goalkicker after booting 54 in the home-and-away rounds.

All medals were presented during the vote count night in the Victory Room at Etihad Stadium. (The VFL’s Liston Trophy might was held simultaneously in the nearby Medallion Room.)

De La Salle play Xavs in the A-section grand final at Elsternwick Park on Sunday. Old Melburnians and Old Trinity will play in the B-section grand final at Elsternwick Park on Saturday.

In the only other VAFA grand final yet to be contested, La Trobe Uni and Albert Park will play in the D4-section grand final at Sandringham’s Trevor Barker Oval on Saturday.


J.N. Woodrow Medal (BF): David Lowe and Matt Fieldsend (De La Salle).

J. D. Anderson Medal (goals): Matt Handley (Old Xaverians) 54.


G.T. Moore Medal (BF): Brendan Iezzi (Old Trinity).

G.T. James Medal (goals): Andrew Ramsden (Old Trinity) 66.


L.S. Zachariah Medal (BF): Roger McIntyre (Melbourne High School Old Boys).

A.A. Acreman Medal (goals): Andrew Slevison (Caulfield Grammarians) 91.


L.S. Pepper Medal (BF): Brendan Stafford (Whitefriars).

L.W. Boyd-Gerny Medal (goals): Leigh Brennan (Rupertswood) 68.


P. Hutchinson Medal (BF): Stefan Barbour (Peninsula).

S.W. Craven Medal (goals): Corey Bannister (Therry Penola) 97.


J. Fullerton Medal (BF): Matthew Collins (Hawthorn).

D.A. Warne-Smith Medal (goals): Ben Spencer (St Francis Xavier) 61.


O.J. Meehan Medal (BF): Stuart Maunder (Albert Park).

T.C. Wilson Medal (goals): Attila Yaman (Swinburne) 115.

Under-19 Premier

C.R. Newbury Medal (BF): Ashley Lim (Old Scotch).

Winning Edge Medal (goals): Stephen Muller (De La Salle) 68.

Under-19 North 1

G.W. McTaggart Medal (BF): Rory Angiolella (Fitzroy) and Will Pickering (Fitzroy).

Winning Edge Medal (goals): Sam Killworth (Old Camberwell).

Under-19 North 2

H. Harisiou Medal (BF): David O’Brien (Old Westbourne).

Winning Edge Medal (goals): Peter Jones (Emmaus-St Leo’s) 51.

Under-19 South 1

I.A. Brown Medal (BF): Lachlan Bennett (Old Melburnians).

Winning Edge Medal (goals): Lachlan Bennett (Old Melburnians) 62.

Under-19 South 2

VAFA Medal (BF): Alan Hendry (Bentleigh).

Winning Edge Medal (goals): Ben Morrison (Bentleigh) 76.


VAFA Medal (BF): Aisea Valentini (Oakleigh).

Winning Edge Medal (goals): Rodney Jetta (Oakleigh) 53.

Click here for full details of every grade.

Leave a Comment