Almanac Football: Carey-Bunton Medal – Round 16 update

Geelong power forward Tom Hawkins retains the lead in the Carey-Bunton Medal for the Best NSW Player in the AFL after Round 16.


He leads the award by four votes from Gold Coast co-captain Jarrad Witts (ex-Sydney University).


The former Finley player also has a handy lead in the Coleman Medal race – he is nine goals ahead of West Coast forward Josh Kennedy and Charlie Dixon from Port Adelaide.


The AFL Coaches Award voting – which is used as the basis for the Carey-Bunton Medal – has gone into camera for Rounds 17 and 18.


Meanwhile, former Mangoplah Cookardinia United Eastlakes player Elliott Himmelberg polled 2 votes for Adelaide in the clash against his brother Harry’s team, GWS Giants. the brothers both played at MCUE based just outside Wagga before going to play for ACT club Eastlakes in the NEAFL.






1 Tom Hawkins (GEEL) 35 (8 votes GEE v ESS)

2 Jarrod Witts (GCC) 31

3 Dane Rampe (SYD) 20

3 Harry Perryman (GWS) 20

5 Isaac Heeney (SYD) 19

6 Jacob Hopper (GWS) 12

7 Callum Mills (SYD) 10

8 Isaac Smith (HAW) 9

9 Derek Eggmolesse-Smith (RICH) 8

9 Dougal Howard (ST K) 8

11 Zac Williams (GWS) 5

12 Nick Blakey (SYD) 4

12 Jacob Townsend (ESS) 4

12 Matthew Kennedy (CARL) 4

15 Luke Breust (HAW) 3

15 Jeremy Finlayson (GWS) 3

17 Michael Gibbons (CARL) 3

18 Todd Marshall (PA)

18 Harry Himmelberg (GWS) 2

18 Charlie Spargo (MEL) 2

18 Elliott Himmelberg (2 votes AD v GWS)



To return to the  home page click HERE


Our writers are independent contributors. The opinions expressed in their articles are their own. They are not the views, nor do they reflect the views, of Malarkey Publications.


Do you enjoy the Almanac concept?
And want to ensure it continues in its current form, and better? To help keep things ticking over please consider making your own contribution.

Become an Almanac (annual) member – CLICK HERE
One-off financial contribution – CLICK HERE
Regular financial contribution (monthly EFT) – CLICK HERE





Leave a Comment