2017 AFL Rising Star

The 2017 AFL Rising Star is announced this Friday.


Twenty years ago, it was this bloke.



Who is your pick for 2017 and why? Is it a poisoned chalice? Does anybody really care?



Round 1: Sam Powell-Pepper (Port Adelaide)

Round 2: Ryan Burton (Hawthorn)

Round 3: Brandan Parfitt (Geelong)

Round 4: Andrew McGrath (Essendon)

Round 5: Eric Hipwood (Brisbane Lions)

Round 6: Caleb Marchbank (Carlton)

Round 7: Sam Petrevski-Seton (Carlton)

Round 8: Tim Taranto (GWS Giants)

Round 9: Tom Phillips (Collingwood)

Round 10: Wayne Milera (Adelaide)

Round 11: Dan Butler (Richmond)

Round 12: David Cuningham (Carlton)

Round 13: Jack Silvagni (Carlton)

Round 14: Hugh McCluggage (Brisbane Lions)

Round 15: Blake Hardwick (Hawthorn)

Round 16: Charlie Curnow (Carlton)

Round 17: Alex Witherden (Brisbane Lions)

Round 18: Lewis Melican (Sydney Swans)

Round 19: Jason Castagna (Richmond)

Round 20: Luke Ryan (Fremantle)

Round 21: Dan Houston (Port Adelaide)

Round 22: Ben Ainsworth (Gold Coast Suns)

Round 23: Will Hayward (Sydney Swans)

About Mark 'Swish' Schwerdt

Saw my first SANFL game in 1967 - Dogs v Peckers. Have only ever seen the Dogs win 1 final in the flesh (1972 1st Semi) Mediocre forward pocket for the AUFC Blacks (1982-89) Life member - Ormond Netball Club -That's me on the right


  1. charlie brown says

    Great to see 3 North Adelaide youngsters on the list – Burton, Parfitt and Hayward. Was Greenwood ineligible due to age?. Reckon McGrath might get up in a photo finish from Burton.

  2. John Butler says

    Charlie Curnow

  3. Mark 'Swish' Schwerdt says

    Here’s the eligibility rules.

    To be eligible for the AFL Rising Star Award, each year’s nominated players must be under the age of 21 at 1 January and have played no more than 10 AFL games to the start of that season.

    They must not have been suspended by the AFL or State League tribunals during the season (as with the Brownlow Medal, players found guilty of certain offences and fined or reprimanded by the Tribunal remain eligible to win the award).

  4. Dave Brown says

    To answer the first question, I don’t know because I don’t see enough of other teams play but I believe I am obligated through twitter to demand that Wayne Milera wins.

    Michael Wilson, huh. A lean year given the other nominee that year that went onto some form of stardom was Shane Woewodin (plenty of good players like Brendon Lade and Daniel Bradshaw, mind). Seems to be a common thing – leans years and not so lean years: Nathan Buckley beat Hird, Ricciuto, Crawford, Richardson, West and Fletcher; Nick Riewoldt beat Judd, Bartel, Hodge and Shaun Burgoyne; and Dan Hannebery beat Fyfe, Dusty Martin, Nic Nat, Scully and Melksham.

    The ones that stand out as the most odd, historically, include: Paul Hasleby beating Pavlich, Chad Cornes, Scarlett, Jude Bolton & Cameron Bruce; Daniel Rich beating Dangerfield, Taylor Walker & Dayne Beams; and Lewis Taylor beating Matt Crouch, Zach Merrett, Daniher, the Bont and Patton. I can’t see that Gary Ablett Jr even got a nomination.

    In the end, the fact that we don’t call rookies rookies causes confusion I reckon. If the award was called rookie of the year it would be fine as a point in time recognition of the young first year player that had the best season. Calling it the rising star suggests it is somehow a measure of potential, which some years it is, some years it aint.

  5. Mark 'Swish' Schwerdt says

    Thanks for doing my research for me Dave.

    While you are at it, what it the latest round in which the eventual winner was nominated?

  6. Ryan Burton for mine and totally agree,Dave it should be rookie of the year rapt tat Will Haywood got the nomination for the last round he was in our SAPSASA side a few years ago

  7. NBA Rookies do a survey each year on who they think will win Rookie of the year and who will have the best career – and the two are always different.

    Burton or McGrath will likely win the Rising Star, but neither will have Charlie Curnow’s career.

  8. Sorry all, but to me the Rising Star is just another b/s award

  9. Luke Reynolds says

    Agree with Smokie, though the ‘Madden Medal’ is surely the biggest b/s award.

Leave a Comment