2005 – The (Almost) All Australian SSA Team: Capital Punishment

ssa aa team 2005

The nation’s capital was the scene for the 2005 School Sports Australia 15/Under carnival. I’m not too sure if there were any side trips to Fyshwick fireworks shops on the itinerary, but a trip to Parliament House probably wasn’t.

Both Victoria and WA fielded two teams, with Vic Metro taking the chocolates.

For a full run down of results, and the names of some current stars that took part, look here

This AA team is notable for the list of future AFL household names (Cotchin, Rockliff, Rich, Suban, Deboer, the customary Selwood) and also for those that have been and gone in the space of a decade (Banner, Swift, Maric, Smith, the mandatory Motlop).

Feel free to pass on anything you know about some of these kids, then or now.

About Mark 'Swish' Schwerdt

Saw my first SANFL game in 1967 - Dogs v Peckers. Have only ever seen the Dogs win 1 final in the flesh (1972 1st Semi) Mediocre forward pocket for the AUFC Blacks (1982-89) Life member - Ormond Netball Club -That's me on the right


  1. Malcolm Ashwood says

    Swish has the reason re no SA involvement etc in these carnivals ever come out ?

  2. Mark 'Swish' Schwerdt says

    Ranga Ediriwickrama’s story is interesting, seems very grounded and took his delisting from the Cats in his stride.




    Even more than that, he went on to study at Harvard and is still having a kick for Pennant Hills in Sydney.

  3. Skip of Skipton says

    I reckon Ediriwickrama had a severe hamstring injury (off the bone?) in his first season at the Cats; hence only playing 14 games over two seasons.

    Speaking of rangas, is Lewis Fasolo (front row, far right) a relative of Alex?

  4. Mark 'Swish' Schwerdt says

    Correct on both counts Skip, Lewis is Alex’s brother (according to my “research”)

    Book, you probably have better contacts than me on that question.

    “From 1974 to 2007 all States and Territories have participated in the Championships except South Australia who missed from 1998 to 2007 and 2009 to 2011, Tasmania 1991 to 1993 and 1998 to 2013 and Western Australia 1998 to 2000.”

Leave a Comment